ADA Accessibility Information


LOGO GRAPHIC BAN OALA Oregon Association Latino Administrators education
LOGO GRAPHIC2 BAN OALA Oregon Association Latino Administrators education
18th Annual Winter Conference, SAVE THE DATE!

UPDATE January 12, 2022 - Out of the utmost caution for your safety and well-being and that of our community, we have made the difficult decision to move our conference to a virtual platform. Read the full letter here.

This annual event provides a venue for Latino and non-Latino educators, business and community leaders to learn about ongoing and emerging educational issues impacting the Latino community. This conference will support the efforts of numerous educators by providing valuable information on a range of innovative strategies for the fastest growing ethnic U.S. segment - Latinos.

Conference strands will include: programs and practices that promote equity and opportunity, instructional pedagogy, leadership development, initiatives and reforms, and family/community outreach.

The OALA Winter Conference is more than a conference with great speakers, it's a vehicle to develop, support and mentor the next generation of Oregon educators in a more diverse and challenging learning environment.

Held annually, the OALA Winter Conference offers intensive exploration of the field of innovative instructional and learning strategies for Latino students, best practices for parent involvement, closing of the achievement gap for English language learners, and professional development training for aspiring administrators. Participants can expect a hands-on curriculum which includes presentations by nationally-recognized authors and educational officials.

It was a powerful conference that came at the right time for many. We hope we provided a safe space for everyone to dialogue and share ideas on how to move forward.

Your district, department or school can join OALA as an Institutional Member, and receive 5 FREE slots to the 2022 Winter Conference!
Renewal forms will be send out late summer to districts and will be posted here for new memberships.

If you are already an institutional member, you will receive your renewal invoice in early fall 2021.
If you have any questions, please email

facebook l Join us on Facebook

Institutional Members
Portland Public School District Oregon Center for Educational Equity Gresham-Barlow School District Hillsboro School District Liberty High School High Desert Education Service District Lake Oswego School District North Clackamas School District title= Hillsboro School District Office for School Performance Miller Education Center Oregon Department of Education Forest Grove School District BSD Glencoe High School Echo Shaw Elementary Cornelius Elementary Joseph Gale Elementary Neil Armstrong MS Harvey Clarke Elem Dilley Elementary Tom McCall Upper Elementary Forest Grove High School Fern Hill Elementary Newberg School District Lowrie Primary School Oregon City Public Schools Witch Hazel Elementary Salem-Keizer Public Schools River Road Elementary Southern Oregon ESD Bend-La Pine School District Hillsboro School District HR Office Willamette ESD Woodburn School District Gladstone School District WL Henry Elementary School Free Orchards Elementary School Beaverton School District Multilingual Department Eastwood Elementary School West Linn Wilsonville School District

In-Kind Sponsor
CarmenDistinguished Latino Educator Award Recipients
2007 - Jose Garcia (retired)
2008 - Carmen Gelman (Springfield Public Schools)
2009 - Carlos Perez (Hillsboro School District)
2010 - Sonny Montes (Portland Public Schools)
2011 - David Bautista (Woodburn Public Schools)
2012 - Olga Acuna (Hillsboro School District)
2013 - Dr. Perla Rodriguez (Forest Grove School District)
2014 - Dr. Emilio Hernandez
2015 - Narce Rodriguez (PCC, Dean of Students)
2016 - Dr. Julie Esparza Brown (Professor, PSU)
2016 - Victor Vergara (Woodburn Public Schools)
2017 - Rep. Teresa Alonso Leon
2018 - Det. Victor Castro (Hillsboro Police Department)
2019 - Carmen Xiomara Urbina (Deputy Director, ODE)
2020 - Dr. Gustavo Balderas (Superintendent, Eugene SD)
2021- Vanessa Vasquez, Eugene SD and Maria Horton, West Linn-Wilsonville SD

OALA 3Tom Ruhl Ally of OALA Award Recipients
OALA Allies
2009 - Rob Larson (Education Northwest) and Tom Ruhl (Marylhurst University)
2010 - Jon Lenssen and Walter Blomberg (retired Woodburn SD)
2011 - Joyce Harris and Dave Dorman
Renamed Tom Ruhl Ally of OALA
2012 - Dr. Carolyn Carr and Eduardo Angulo
2013 - Carole Smith (Portland PS) and Dr. Bill Rhoades (West Linn-Wilsonville)
2014 - Mike Scott (Hillsboro SD) and Dr. Deborah Peterson (PSU)
2015 - Sean Murray (Portland PS, HR)
2016 - Sho Shigeoka (Beaverton School District)
2017 - Kim Feicke (Ed Equity Orgeon) and Craig Hawkins (Exec Director, COSA)
2018 - Dr. Dawn Montgomery (Lewis and Clark College) and David Nieslanik (Beaverton SD)
2019 - Linda DuBois (Long Standing OALA Partner, Curriculum Associates)
2020- - Travis Reiman (Asst. Superintendent, Hillsboro SD)
2021 - Dr. Katrise Perera (Superintendent, Gresham-Barlow SD)
LOGO BAR OALA Oregon Association Latino Administrators education
CONTACT US BUTTON OALA Oregon Association Latino Administrators education FACEBOOK BUTTON OALA Oregon Association Latino Administrators education

Copyright © 2010-2022 OALA - Oregon Association of Latino Administrators and WEO Media (Touchpoint Communications LLC). All rights reserved.  Sitemap | Links
OALA - Oregon Association of Latino Administrators, P.O. Box 310, Cornelius, OR 97113 | none | | 8/5/2022 | Page Terms:Latino Administrators Oregon |