ADA Accessibility Information
Winter Conference
Save the Date!
Feb 2nd and 3rd, 2018

This annual event provides a venue for Latino and non-Latino educators, business and community leaders to learn about ongoing and emerging educational issues impacting the Latino community. This conference will support the efforts of numerous educators by providing valuable information on a range of innovative strategies for the fastest growing ethnic U.S. segment - Latinos.

Winter Conference 2018 Registration

Schedule for the Winter Conference 2018

Conference strands will include: programs and practices that promote equity and opportunity, instructional pedagogy, leadership development, initiatives and reforms, and family/community outreach.

The OALA Winter Conference is more than a conference with great speakers, it's a vehicle to develop, support and mentor the next generation of Oregon educators in a more diverse and challenging learning environment.

Held annually, the OALA Winter Conference offers intensive exploration of the field of innovative instructional and learning strategies for Latino students, best practices for parent involvement, closing of the achievement gap for English language learners, and professional development training for aspiring administrators. Participants can expect a hands-on curriculum which includes presentations by nationally-recognized authors and educational officials.

It was a powerful conference that came at the right time for many. We hope we provided a safe space for everyone to dialogue and share ideas on how to move forward.

Join OALA as an Institutional Member, and receive 5 FREE slots to the 2018 Winter Conference! Learn more by downloading our membership form.

14th Annual Conference!

Narratives of Resilience: Through Strength We Rise
How do Latinx educational leaders do it? How do we influence positive academic and social emotional outcomes for students? How do we inspire teachers to do the same? How do we all thrive and flourish amidst social and political times filled with uncertainty, vulnerability and pain? This year’s OALA Winter Conference will ponder these questions by exploring asset-based narratives of resilience, success and achievement for Latinx educational leaders. You do not want to miss out on listening to these compelling stories!

OALA Conference Lodging
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Hotel Property Code: PDXBVES
Group Code: 60C
Book by Thursday, January 11 to receive discounted rate

OALA Institutional Membership 2018

Join us on Facebook
Click for Our 2018 DLEA Nomination Form

Distinguished Latino Educator Award Recipients
2007 - Jose Garcia (retired)
2008 - Carmen Gelman (Springfield Public Schools)
2009 - Carlos Perez (Hillsboro School District)
2010 - Sonny Montes (Portland Public Schools)
2011 - David Bautista (Woodburn Public Schools)
2012 - Olga Acuna (Hillsboro School District)
2013 - Dr. Perla Rodriguez (Forest Grove School District)
2014 - Dr. Emilio Hernandez
2015 - Narce Rodriguez (PCC, Dean of Students)
2016 - Dr. Julie Esparza Brown (Professor, PSU)
2016 - Victor Vergara (Woodburn Public Schools)
2017 - Rep. Teresa Alonso Leon

OALA Allies
2009 - Rob Larson (Education Northwest)
Tom Ruhl (Marylhurst University)
2010 - Jon Lenssen
Walter Blomberg (retired Woodburn SD)
2011 - Joyce Harris
Dave Dorman

Renamed Tom Ruhl Ally of OALA
2012 - Dr. Carolyn Carr and Eduardo Angulo
2013 - Carole Smith (Portland Public Schools) and
Dr. Bill Rhoades (West Linn-Wilsonville)
2014 - Mike Scott (Hillsboro SD) and
Dr. Deborah Peterson (PSU)
2015 - Sean Murray (Portland Public Schools, HR)
2016 - Sho Shigeoka (Beaverton School District)
2017 - Kim Feicke (Ed Equity Orgeon)
Craig Hawkins (Executive Director, COSA)
Copyright © 2010-2018 OALA - Oregon Association of Latino Administrators and WEO MEDIA. All rights reserved.  Sitemap | Links